Booking through Thursday: La-la-LA!!!!

This weeks Booking through Thursday questions is:

“If you’re anything like me, there are songs that you love because of their lyrics; writers you admire because their songs have depth, meaning, or just a sheer playfulness that has nothing to do with the tunes.

So, today’s question?

  • What songs … either specific songs, or songs in general by a specific group or writer … have words that you love?
  • Why?
  • And … do the tunes that go with the fantastic lyrics live up to them? “

That’s a great question. I love to read, but it’s nice to remember that there are other ways to tell stories, such as poetry or music. There are some songs that I absolutely love, and the story they tell can be fun or moving, romantic or sad, depressing or HAPPY HAPPY!!!

I usually prefer older music, such as classical works or opera, but there is a variety of new songs that I like to. Usually my wife is the one to find them and then she plays it for me. I have no idea where she finds these songs at, but she is trying to make sure that I can have at least some idea about what’s popular out there. She is doing her best to make me not look like the nerd I am.

My absolutely favorite song is one that very few of you have heard. I call it “All My Love”, and my wife wrote it for me when we got married. I didn’t know she was going to sing a song during our ceremony. We had had rehearsal even, and I was struggling to remember what I was supposed to be doing during the ceremony, and then suddenly, everything was different! She pulls out a microphone and starts singing a song she had written, and our friend Jonathan played it on the guitar (He’s the most brilliant guitarist I’ve ever heard). It was beautiful, well-written, and I compare all other love songs to that one.

My wife is beautiful and creative. Her creativity is one of the things that first attracted my attention to her (and, no one can make me laugh like she can! And she can make a mean cup of coffee!) I currently have the song on my MP3 player even. I love it. The song tells about her disbelief that she could end up with a great guy like me (Ha ha, the poor thing), and the wonder of discovering what true love really is. I know I am coming from a slightly prejudiced point of view here, but I really think that that song could be a hit song if someone famous sang it (well, someone famous who was also a good singer). My wife is a very talented writer and poet, and that song was the

This was a good question. It is bringing to mind all the reasons why I love my sweetheart! And after 8.5 years of marriage, that is a good thing. There is a line in that song that says “As endless as the stars above, may our love always be”. I love that line, every time I hear it my heart thrills. I am happy to say that I do get to spend the rest of my life, and all of eternity, with my best friend.

Explore posts in the same categories: Booking through Thursday

5 Comments on “Booking through Thursday: La-la-LA!!!!”

  1. Mrs. B. Says:

    What a fabulous story. I, too, surprised my husband with a song at our wedding ceremony. It was written by Sara Groves though, not myself. 🙂

  2. claire Says:

    That is such a beautiful post. It’s very refreshing to read about husbands gushing over their wife. 🙂

  3. Den Says:

    That is so sweet 😀 Your wife seems like a very lucky gal.

  4. terri Says:

    What a sweet story! Can you share the lyrics with us? I posted about a song my partner and I sang at our commitment ceremony – Gandhi/Buddha by Cheryl Wheeler. It’s one I wish I had written!

  5. MizB Says:

    Awww, that’s awesome! And, thanks for sharing, as –like ‘claire’ said– it’s really nice to hear a hubby so in love with his wife. 😀

    As for the one I put on my own blog, I, too, have “Baby Got Book” on my MP3 player. It’s a great song, and I’m trying to memorize the lyrics! LOL. 😛


Leave a Reply

