Sneak Peak Tuesday!

Since a couple of you asked, I will go ahead and post the rest of the paragraph of my Teaser Tuesday post. Elisha, the character in the book, is recalling his first assignment/attack as a part of a Jewish underground resistance movement against the British shortly after WWII is over. Elie Wiesel writes in “Dawn”

“I saw the legs running like frightened rabbits and I found myself utterly hateful. I remembered the dreaded SS guards in the Polish ghettos. Day after day, night after night, they slaughtered the Jews in just the same way. Tommy guns were scattered here and there, and an officer, laughing or distractedly eating, barked out the order: Fire! Then the scythe went to work. A few Jews tried to break through the circle of fire, but they only rammed their heads against its insurmountable wall. They too ran like rabbits, like rabbits sotted with wine and sorrow, and death mowed them down” (p. 165)

I reviewed Dawn briefly in a previous blog. I am moved by the imagery in this passage. The character Elisha often questions his motives about fighting for his freedom. He wonders if he is now any better than the Nazi’s were. At one point in the book he sees himself in a vision wearing an SS uniform. Powerful stuff, and will cause you to rethink issues.

Now, I think I need to read something funny and light-hearted. 🙂

Explore posts in the same categories: General

One Comment on “Sneak Peak Tuesday!”

  1. Margot Says:

    Thanks for the whole paragraph. Very powerful indeed! I’ve put this book on my list. I need to read more than the fun stuff once in a while.


Leave a Reply

