Musing Monday: Required reading

Rebecca, host of Musing Monday, asks, How did you react to assigned reading when you were in school/university/college/etc? How do you think on these books now? What book were you ‘forced’ to read when you where in school that you’ve since reread and loved?

Well, I loved required reading in school. I cannot remember a time I did not like to read, in fact. I liked being able to read the difficult books, and then discuss them in class. In college, I took an intro to lit class that read and discussed “The Scarlet Letter”, and that was very fun. We also covered “A Midsummer Night’s Dream” which was a blast, as well as many famous short stories. In high school I took a class that required me to read “Julius Ceasar” which I hated because I did not understand anything. But I kept reading various Shakespeare on my own until finally I read Macbeth and sort of understood the plot, so I was very excited.

The ultimate book nerdy thing I did when I was a teenager was read the entire book of “Moby Dick”. I think I was 17 or 18, and just decided that it was a book I should read before I embarked into the world of adults. So I found a neat old copy (that I lost somewhere along the way, thanks to mom, not that I’m bitter =-) and I read the whole thing. Even the boring chapters describing whale biology. And you know what? I loved it. Absolutely loved the entire book, it’s still one of my favorite classics today.

Now that I’m in graduate school I have to read a lot of books on doctrine and theology that are very boring and dry. Every once in awhile I’ll come across a theologian who can write well, but it’s dull going. They need some zest in their writing styles!

Overall, whether it was required or not, I loved to read. I think the #1 influence in my life was my Grandma K. She passed away a few years ago, but I remember she always would get me books for my birthday and Christmas. She always found ones I liked and new ones I had never read before. Maybe that’s why I never minded reading the required reading. I think most people are turned off by the word “required”. I saw it as a challenge: my teacher is making me read this, but I’m going to read it because I want to! AND I’m going to enjoy it! I know, I know, I was such a rebel!! 😉

Explore posts in the same categories: Monday Musing

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

