Friday Finds, 01-09-09

Happy Friday everyone! I found lots of new ideas and books thanks to everyones post on the Booking through Thursday blog. Here are a few that many of you have probably already read, but I’m adding to my “To be read” pile:

1. “The Road” by Cormac McCarthy. A lot of people had it on their best of 2008 lists, so I thought I’d give it a try.

2. “Night” by Elie Wiesel. Another book, like “the Road” about a Father and son going through hardships. This one was excellent, one of the best I read in 2007, I just found out that he had actually written two more books that follow up on that story, “Dawn”, and “Day”. I just got this book with all three novels in it, so I will be reading it this year. Night takes place in a WWII concentration camp, it’s very sad but very good!

3. “Dominion Trilogy #1: Relentless” by Robin Parrish. MizB recommended it to me, so I will have to give it a try!

4. Here, There Be Dragons (Chronicles of the Imaginarium Geographica) the recommended reading level is 8th grade and up, so I assume these are considered Young Adult, but they sound interesting. It’s a book series about the magical adventures of JRR Tolkien, CS Lewis, and Charles Williams, who would later go on to be famous writers, and form a literary group called “The Inklings.” The books sound like fun!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

3 Comments on “Friday Finds, 01-09-09”


  1. I loved THE ROAD.

    I am going to check NIGHT. I have not read any Wiesel.

  2. Wanda Says:

    I read “Night” not long ago — haunting and tragic, I only wish it was just a story!!

  3. Beth F Says:

    I think lots of us found good books yesterday thanks to Booking through Thursday.


Leave a Reply

